City of San Fernando


Councilmember Sylvia Ballin
City of San Fernando

C 818.447.7900

Appointed to the San Fernando City Council on March 8, 2011.

Sylvia Ballin was elected to serve on the City Council on March 8, 2011. She served as Mayor from March 2014-2015. She was re-elected on March 2015 to serve another four-year term and was selected by her peers to serve as Vice-Mayor for 2015-2016. She also served as a City of San Fernando Transportation & Safety Commissioner from 2009-2011.

Prior to being elected to the San Fernando City Council, she was appointed by the mayor in 2007 to represent the City of San Fernando on the Metropolitan Water District Board of Directors. Uniquely, before becoming a Metropolitan Water District board member, she was an employee. She retired in 2007 from her position as a principal administrative analyst, in the Facilities Management section, after 21 years of service.

Ballin also served as past president of two Metropolitan employee organizations, The Woman's Association for Equal Opportunity and the Hispanic Association, and as past vice president of the Native American Alaska Native Employees Association, and past vice president of AFSCME Local 1902, Group 12. She is a board member for the California Latino Water Coalition and is Chair of the California Latino Water Coalition Foundation.

Ballin graduated from the University of La Verne with a Bachelor of Science Degree in Business Administration.

Contact Information:
Phone: 818-898-1201
Fax: 818-361-7631

    City Council Home
    • Council Members
    • City Council and RDA Meetings

The City website provides documents in PDF format - a standard for electronic publishing. If you do not have Adobe Reader, click on the "Get Adobe Reader" button to the right to get the free program. Get Adobe Reader
San Fernando City Hall, 117 Macneil Street, San Fernando, CA 91340
Phone: (818) 898-1200, Fax: (818) 361-7631, Email:
City Employee Email